Spring in Cleveland – A Playlist


Image

Since September I’ve been getting up early to brave a morning commute that involves some sort of bus, train, plane, the very occasional automobile, or, most likely, a combination of all of the above. Its much easier in NYC than Cleveland, but at the same time, there’s been something special about waking up at 5:30 to walk down to the bus stop in the cold just in time to see the sun rise on a calm, quiet street in the midwest. The most amazing part is that I’m not the only one on the bus – in fact, one morning I went in a half hour earlier, and to my astonishment, couldn’t find a seat. For every time I’ve complained about being on a schedule that’s not always mine, life has presented me with a reason (or two, or three) to appreciate the life I lead. So instead of complaining about my early hours, I’m embracing them. This is my “Wake Up in Cleveland” playlist – it does a stellar job of waking me up, putting me in a positive mindset, and motivating me to take that cold AM walk…that I’m (almost) always glad to have taken once I’ve started.

My favorite part of music is that the songs that stick with me are always songs I associate with the person who turned me onto it in the first place, or remind me of a certain moment in time I spent with someone. So, in essence, when I wake up to these, I’m waking up with all my best friends all over everywhere. And that fills me up and makes me happy and puts a spring in my step that’s hard to achieve otherwise. It reminds me to make the most of my day and enjoy every opportunity I have to be around friends, or work hard, or just enjoy walking around livin’ it up. It also means – in some warped way – you are all riding the buses with me, sucka’s. Hey – but feel better – here’s the 1.5 hours of music I start listening to right after I’m out of the shower – all downloadable and ending with a classic Clevelander. Enjoy! And try a day without your car!

Hey – PS – IT’S SPRING!

 If I Rise – Dido and AR Rahmann

 The Sweetness of Air France – Taken by Trees and Air France

 Cayucas – Oregon Bike Trails 

 When It Began – The Replacements

  Forget It – Blood Orange

 Lights Out, Words Gone – Bombay Bicycle Club

 Free My Mind – Katie Herzig (RAC Remix)

 Broken Open – Cold War Kids

 An Argument with Myself – Jens Lekman (Scandanavia represent! I saw Jens in concert in Brooklyn – even better in person and in a tiny venue)!

   Emaline – Ben Folds Five

 Dear Friend – Emanuel and the Fear

 Zorbing – Stornaway

 Come Around – Tim & Jean

 Swimming in the Sky (Passion Pit mashup by Xaphoon Jones of Chiddy Bang)

 Houseboat Babies – Reptar

 Tony the Beat – The Sounds

 I Belong in Your Arms – Chairlift

 Fresh Feeling – Eels

 California Soul – Marlena Soul

 Every Ghetto, Every City – Lauryn Hill

 The Wrath of Marcie – The Go! Team

 Brighter Day – Sam Gray

 Neon Lights-  Natasha Bedingfield

 Strawberry Swing – Frank Ocean

 Crossroads – Tracy Chapman

Leave a Reply

  • Submit your website to 20 Search Engines - FREE with ineedhits!
  • wordpress visitor
  • var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-15616839-7']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();
