My top 10 LEGALLY DOWNLOADABLE spring songs!

Spring is in the air and new spring music might be one of my FAVORITE parts of the season. There’s something about it that reflects the anticipation of sunny summer days, vacations to the beach and sandy feet, hot parties in skimpy clothes, and breezy chilled beverages. It always seems to be more upbeat, more rhythmic…more free…in a word….sunnier!  

It’s even better when it’s FREE! So here are some of the songs I’ve been playing over and over from my “I’m a broken record when spring has sprung!” playlist…click to preview and right-click to download and enjoy over and over and over (like I do!) Grab a brewski, get outside, crank these up, and start off cornhole season right! (It kills me how Midwestern I am sometimes…)  

1.) Sleepyhead (Starsmith Remix) – ft. Ellie Goulding and (of course!) Passion Pit –  there have been tons of remixes of this song, but Ellie’s sweet voice and the sunny “O, o, o-ing” of the chorus made this one my instant favorite. 

 Download 

 2.) My Way – jj ft. Lil Wayne – My favorite artist of this year? By leaps and bounds…jj – this Swedish pop duo takes inspiration from EVERYTHING, but especially (on their newest album) trips to Africa and rap music. I recently described this song to someone by explaining that if I were to remake Scarface I would use this song in the soundtrack – its smooth, unexpected, unassuming, dreamy, and druggy…I don’t do drugs, deal drugs, own a gun, a boat, or live in Miami – but if I did, this song would surely be the soundtrack of my life…oh, and I’d look just like Michelle Pfeiffer circa 1983.   

 Download 

3.) Giving up the Sunshowers – M.I.A. and Vampire Weekend mixed by The Hood Internet – The Hood Internet has been creating AMAZING mash-ups for a couple years now, but there’s something about this one that feels super spring-y to me – although it is almost too repetitive, when the sun is out and I’m bouncing around to it…I never even notice…and just for fun…here’s another one of my THI favorites…  

 Download 

The Hood Internet – Fire it Up Firemouse (Lil Wayne vs. Modest Mouse) 

 Download 

   

4.) Worse it Gets (The RAC remix) – Penguin Prison – I am strangely, frighteningly addicted to this song…partly because I picture little Alex B. Keaton of Family Ties dancing to this everytime I hear it, but also because everything about it reminds me of a PARTICULAR 80’s song…and if anyone recognizes it and can tell me the name of the song I’ll give you a million dollars (ok – ten. But truly, I will send it to you if you provide a mailing address) because I can’t quite figure it out and its driving me INSANE! Anyway, its a great song. I love…  

 Download  

   

5.) O.N.E. – Yeasayer – There’s been a lot of buzz about this band, but if you’ve missed it check out some of their stuff – its good!  

  Download

6.) Warm Heart of Africa – The Very Best Ft. Ezra Koenig – This definitely has a “world music” type of feeling, so if that isn’t your gig, you may not be into this song, but at least give it a listen, because not only do I think its FABULOUS, but Vampire Weekend’s roots really come out here – also, its IMPOSSIBLE to listen to this song without thinking of spring breaks past – let that guilty smile spread across your face, yes you – you know what you did – it feels good – just like jamming to the music. Oh – and technically it’s from last summer, but really, who friggin’ cares.  

7.) On Our Way – Chiddy Bang – yes you are! To give you an idea of what a perfect spring/summer song this is here are the first few lines of lyrics…(*critical note – I’m not saying these are genuis lyrics, but if they don’t nail that old college spring break feeling…for the LOVE, WHAT DOES?!?)  

Let the camera roll, cause we on a holiday
It’s that feel good s***, jackpot, lottery
Holiday, means that the water gets bluer,
The kids get newer,
And the hatin’ gets fewer  

Enough said, right? Wrong. These guys are AWESOME – although this is the only song I have rights to post, check out EVERY song they’ve ever made – hands down, the best thing to come out of Philly since that infamous (yes, INfamous in my book) cheesesteak.  

   Download  

8.) Clap Your Hands – Sia – Bouncy fun. And google the name to find the YouTube video ft. Perez Hilton…trippy, trippy, scary….  Download  

   

9.) Mexico – The Soft Pack – Remember when you first discovered “indie” music…did it kind of sound like this? For some reason, to me, its reminiscent of Neutral Milk Hotel – but the beachier side…if I still lived in SoCal I  would be pumping this from my little beach cruiser boombox – the first guitar riff alone harkens the smell of sunblock…  

The Soft Pack -Mexico  

   

10.) Shewolf – Hot Chip – YES, this IS a cover of Shakira’s Shewolf – complete with the super weird “AAOOoooo’s!”…and I love EVERY minute of it’s super weird pop/electronic fabulousness. You can not even begin to imagine my surprise and delight when I realized I could celebrate yet another summer season with this sugar-pop-crap song that forces any and every listener to shake it ’till your hips can’t lie.  Thank you Hot Chip – I owe your entire group a cage dance in a nude, slightly creepy Slim Goodbody-esque spandex onesie (*see video). You should definitely play this minutes before going to a “club” where they drop glitter or soapsuds on the dance crowd every few minutes.  

 Download

  

And here are a few other songs I can’t legally post, but you should checkout – mos def…they’re not all new, but they are catchy, summer-y, just-plain-good tunes…  

  • Bliss n Eso – Party at My Place
  • The White Panda – T.I. vs. Passion Pit – What you Know About Little Secrets
  • Big Light  – Good Time of the Year
  • Ellie Goulding – Starry Eyed (Penguin Prison Remix ft. Theophilus London)
  • Cold War Kids – Audience
  • Grand Analog ft. Len Bowen – Dovercourt Road
  • Florence + the Machine – Kiss with a Fist
  • Uh Huh Her – Say So (Thom Russo remix)
  • The 1990’s – 59
  • El Perro Del Mar – Into the Sunshine
  • Miles Fisher – This Must Be the Place (Talking Heads redux)
  • Marching Band – For Your Love
  • Joe Purdy – Skinny Dippin’ Girl
  • Atlas Sound – Walkabout
  • Empire of the Sun – Walking on a Dream
  • Frightened Rabbit – Swim Until You Can’t See Land
  • Classified – Things are Looking Up
  • Raphael Saadiq – 100 Yard Dash
  • Maiko Watson – Lookin’ Up
  • Keak da Sneak – Way Back
  • Lil Wayne ft. Nicki Minaj – Knockout
  • Mood Ruff – Rocketship
  • Seth Sentry – Simple Game

A big thanks to the artists and labels throwing these songs out for our needy consumption – especially PMA and Secretly Canadian – head there to find more great artists and buy more of their songs!  

Cheers! Here’s to spring/summer 2010!

Leave a Reply

  • Submit your website to 20 Search Engines - FREE with ineedhits!
  • wordpress visitor
  • var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-15616839-7']); _gaq.push(['_trackPageview']); (function() { var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true; ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '.google-analytics.com/ga.js'; var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();
